Back to the Grind.

Monday was a double-duty day before heading to the airport to catch a flight (actually 3 of them) out to San Jose, CA on United.  Got up early and got in to spin class, first time in a while.  Could feel the leftovers from the weekend of racing, but figured that the bike would be easier on sore legs than running.  Good calorie burner, and always good to have a workout in and be home before anyone else even gets up. 

Able to then make it up to the pool before lunch for some mileage.  Ended up warming up for 10 minutes, then running an aqua-fartlek for 30 minutes – 4 minutes around 80%, 2 minute jog.  Did this 5 times, then cooled down for 10 more.  50 minutes total – didn’t think doing something hard was prudent, but knew I was going on the road for a couple of days so the upcoming runs would be longer and slower.  This was a good “in-between” run, and getting in two workouts before sitting in the back of cramped jets all afternoon/evening made sleeping the flights away easy.

Ran the Guadalupe River trail in San Jose on Tuesday.  Felt terrible out of the gate, but once the joints got lubed up I found a rhythm and started knocking out the miles.  Ended up getting 10, felt pretty good all-in-all.  Definitely earned my daily vanilla McCone. 

San Jose – Indianapolis – Omaha through the night.  Haven’t been to Omaha in a while so I don’t know what kind of trail they have there, if there even is one.  Will probably only try to get 40-45 minutes in, and have proven in the past that I can get that in just about anywhere.  Thinking of adding a race on Sunday, so I’ll probably start to maybe take it a little easy Friday and Saturday this week.  Whole point of the meet is to try to really attack an 800m from gun to wire before the indoor season ends – I expect to be running alone, but for this I don’t even care – nobody to push you, but also nobody to get in your way.  I’m also kicking around jumping in a 3000m afterwards – I’ve wanted to run one all year, but the timing has never been right.  It’ll be doubling, which I rarely do, but it’ll be low-key so what the hell.  Plenty of time to change my mind, hopefully I don’t chicken out between now and then.

About Nick Berra

I am a 45 year old masters runner from Central Pennsylvania. I have been participating primarily in track events since turning 40 in 2009. This season has produced marks that I have not run in several years, I believe primarily due to starting a strength and flexibility program here at Elite Athletic Performance - I've felt stronger and faster than I have in a long time. That, coupled with lots of underwater running, has kept me healthy and fit - at this age those are things I no longer take for granted... I run USATF events with a team out of Philadelphia, the Greater Philadelphia Track Club. They are a great group who have played a big part in making the sport enjoyable for me again. I also run local races for HydroWorx Track Club, supported by HydroWorx here in Harrisburg PA. Their underwater treadmills and training center has proved to be a crucial part of my training, rehabilitation, and recovery programs. I set personal records in the 800m (1:56.06) in 2010 and in the 1500m (4:02:63) and mile (4:23.48) in 2011. Despite the fact that I am not getting any younger, I nearly PR'ed recently and set the M45 indoor world record in the 800 meters at the New Balance Armory in New York City. I ran 1:56.10, besting the 9 year old record by less than a second. I feel like there are still more big things to come... I am married and have two daughters. I am an assistant XC coach at my alma mater, Cumberland Valley High School here in Mechanicsburg PA. I am also a 1991 graduate of the US Naval Academy, currently working as a pilot for FedEx after serving 10 years on active duty flying in the Navy. Beat Army! Beat Army!
This entry was posted in Aquatic Fitness, Competitive Races, Hydrotherapy, Running, Water Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

