Back To Work

Many forum folks have made me out to be the villain - I think I may transfer my USATF affiliation to “Evil Empire TC"

The Dell family was kind enough to tape Sunday’s race for me, but I’ve had technical difficulties getting the image off the camera since getting home.  I finally got it off the camera and on to the computer.  Enjoy another view of the race – my apologies ahead of time to all those who watched the USATF video a second or third time in order to see the pole vaulter – that bonus coverage is not included in this version.  The results are the same in this version as the last – those who cracked the code on the first one will probably use their “CSI” video enhancing equipment to come up with the same analysis from this footage.  Knock yourselves out everyone…

.

.

Hit LA Fitness yesterday morning for the hour-long class, with a quick strength session afterwards.  After lunch got in the pool for some easy distance work – after taking Monday off it was good to get back out (in) there.  Did an hour total – legs felt fine during the run but found some very sore spots in the glutes during the post-session massage.  Hit those areas hard with the massage hose, still a little tender today but feeling better.

Went out to the track this evening with all my gear for a track workout, but was less than enthusiastic about it.  I wanted to get it done, but a bunch of factors were lining up against it.  First and foremost, I just felt tired all day – late one last night (kid sleepover), but it was more than that.  I felt very lethargic – will get a good dinner and night’s sleep and hope that take will take care of itself by morning.  Second, my glutes were still sore from Sunday – have pushed sore quads on a couple of occassions and it ended badly each time, don’t need to turn a one-day setback into something more substantial.  And lastly, the flag was stiff from a solar flare or something that sent some hot winds racing across PA (as I have said many times before, wind is my arch enemy).  It didn’t make sense to force it, plus I have an opportunity (another swim practice) in the morning to get it done.  Hopefully I will have a little more hop in my step tomorrow and a little less pain in the arse.

Instead of hitting the track I jumped over to the Appalachian Trail and dodged roots and rocks for 6 miles.  45 minutes of bounding, climbing, and curving – easy pace, but every foot placement was with a purpose.  Last thing I wanted was to snap an ankle at this point, so I was as careful as I could be.  I hadn’t been out to the trail since cross-country season ended – we take the team out to this stretch of the AT quite a bit, but I prefer the Stony Creek Trail if all things are equal.

Not to put the cart ahead of the horse, but assuming I get tomorrow’s workout completed I might come back and do something over at the HydroWorx center on Friday.  The pool is forgiving enough that back to back workouts is possible, and I’d like to try to do something to prepare for the preliminary stages that the world meet will have.  The 800m schedule as of now calls for two days of trials to make the finals, a Fri-Sat-Mon sequence.  We’ll see how tomorrow goes before I book anything for Friday – as will be the case once the elimination rounds begin in Sacramento, one day at a time….

About Nick Berra

I am a 45 year old masters runner from Central Pennsylvania. I have been participating primarily in track events since turning 40 in 2009. This season has produced marks that I have not run in several years, I believe primarily due to starting a strength and flexibility program here at Elite Athletic Performance - I've felt stronger and faster than I have in a long time. That, coupled with lots of underwater running, has kept me healthy and fit - at this age those are things I no longer take for granted... I run USATF events with a team out of Philadelphia, the Greater Philadelphia Track Club. They are a great group who have played a big part in making the sport enjoyable for me again. I also run local races for HydroWorx Track Club, supported by HydroWorx here in Harrisburg PA. Their underwater treadmills and training center has proved to be a crucial part of my training, rehabilitation, and recovery programs. I set personal records in the 800m (1:56.06) in 2010 and in the 1500m (4:02:63) and mile (4:23.48) in 2011. Despite the fact that I am not getting any younger, I nearly PR'ed recently and set the M45 indoor world record in the 800 meters at the New Balance Armory in New York City. I ran 1:56.10, besting the 9 year old record by less than a second. I feel like there are still more big things to come... I am married and have two daughters. I am an assistant XC coach at my alma mater, Cumberland Valley High School here in Mechanicsburg PA. I am also a 1991 graduate of the US Naval Academy, currently working as a pilot for FedEx after serving 10 years on active duty flying in the Navy. Beat Army! Beat Army!
This entry was posted in Aquatic Fitness, Competitive Races, Cross Country Running, Deep Tissue Massage, Hydrotherapy, HydroWorx Exercise Pool, Outdoor World Championships, Running, Training for Runs, Water Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back To Work

  1. Suzan says:

    Nick, Keep us posted we are driving from Berkeley to Yosemite on the 6th, can’t believe we will be so close. Is Melanie going to be here? And GOOD LUCK!

    Suzan & Mark

Leave a Reply

