If Some Is Good, More Is Better

I hadn’t been this anxious to “get back out there” in quite some time.  Yesterday’s weather was perfect again – textbook Indian summer, think it may have actually hit 70 degrees.  I was still a little sore from the previous day’s effort (probably because of the lack of work leading up…), so I planned on an easy 8 miler.  Went straight north this time instead of half and half – first mile or so was  a little rough on the legs, but once everything got loosened up things started to flow again.  Time of day was about the same as Sunday so the sunset was again in full bloom – very cool.  If Sunday was as perfect as they come, this one would have been a close #2 had it not been for one missed step….

About 7 miles into the run as my eyes were wandering I missed a rock and hit it wrong – just a quick little misstep but I immediately felt it in my foot/ankle.  Kept on going without much trouble, but it was definitely tender on the way home.  Sank it in an ice bucket back at the house and kept it wrapped all night.  I don’t expect it to cause any problems long-term as long as I don’t take up hoops anytime soon.

With the foot still pretty sore this morning, I sacrificed another beautiful afternoon for the safety of the pool.  With the low impact properties of the water and the flat, even surface of the treadmill it was a good way to “baby” my little sprain and still get in some decent work.  Got in a solid hour in the pool without any discomfort, hopefully it feels a little better tomorrow…

Back to work tomorrow evening so I plan to get in another run tomorrow morning.  The upcoming trip ends up with a long (4 day) layover in Manhattan, so like we did last November and then December my family is coming up to join me – a little family vacation while “on the clock”.   This assumes, of course, that my trip doesn’t get revised before I get to New York, but if it works out it should be a fun long weekend.  If it doesn’t I have 4 NYC “City Passes” for sale – cheap!

About Nick Berra

I am a 45 year old masters runner from Central Pennsylvania. I have been participating primarily in track events since turning 40 in 2009. This season has produced marks that I have not run in several years, I believe primarily due to starting a strength and flexibility program here at Elite Athletic Performance - I've felt stronger and faster than I have in a long time. That, coupled with lots of underwater running, has kept me healthy and fit - at this age those are things I no longer take for granted... I run USATF events with a team out of Philadelphia, the Greater Philadelphia Track Club. They are a great group who have played a big part in making the sport enjoyable for me again. I also run local races for HydroWorx Track Club, supported by HydroWorx here in Harrisburg PA. Their underwater treadmills and training center has proved to be a crucial part of my training, rehabilitation, and recovery programs. I set personal records in the 800m (1:56.06) in 2010 and in the 1500m (4:02:63) and mile (4:23.48) in 2011. Despite the fact that I am not getting any younger, I nearly PR'ed recently and set the M45 indoor world record in the 800 meters at the New Balance Armory in New York City. I ran 1:56.10, besting the 9 year old record by less than a second. I feel like there are still more big things to come... I am married and have two daughters. I am an assistant XC coach at my alma mater, Cumberland Valley High School here in Mechanicsburg PA. I am also a 1991 graduate of the US Naval Academy, currently working as a pilot for FedEx after serving 10 years on active duty flying in the Navy. Beat Army! Beat Army!
This entry was posted in Aquatic Fitness, Hydrotherapy, HydroWorx Exercise Pool, Running, Running Injuries, Underwater Treadmill, Water Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

