Putting the Hat and Gloves to Work

Whoops.  Think I accidentally pressed the ‘submit’ button.  When it gets to the point where I just type “6 miles” and call it a day I think it’ll be time to find a new hobby.  Anyway, here’s the real thing….

Friday:  6 mile local loop                                                                                                      Saturday:  Box seats at the Messiah College natatorium for kid swim                        Sunday:  7.5 miles local roads

Feeling pretty good.  I can definitely tell the difference in recovery time and leg fatigue as I continue to log road miles.   I have been making a point of just running “how I feel”, paces have ended up consistently in the 6:15 – 6:20 range.  Wouldn’t consider the effort level “long and slow”, but more like comfortable.  As I said before, I think this bodes well for my aerobic conditioning, but the anaerobic side of the house is unproven to say the least…

Might try to get out to the track tomorrow and at least see if I remember how to turn left.  The weather here the last couple days has been pretty rough – temps consistently in the mid-20’s, with about 5” of snow falling on Saturday.  While tomorrow is supposed to warm up (to a whopping 45 degs), it is also supposed to rain, so we’ll see how it goes.

I officially got confirmation of my entry for this Friday’s mile up at Penn State, so hopefully I can finally kick this year off.  With the total lack of speed work up to this point, I am pretty much banking on 35 miles on the roads and a whole bunch of underwater time.  This formula has worked for me in the past, but I think on those other occasions I had a solid base prior to going on the road running disabled list.  This time I hadn’t been in competitive shape in several months before sitting out, so I feel like I am starting from scratch.  I guess you have to start somewhere, so for me that will be State College, PA on Friday evening.

As for the Saturday updates – my Saturday was spent poolside watching an action-packed YMCA swim club duel meet.  Both girls swam great and are becoming real competitors.  No regrets whatsoever about skipping the race up in Ithaca – disappointment maybe, but not regret.  Their stuff is way funner than mine.  As for what went down up at Cornell, it sounded crazy.  According to reports, the turnout wasn’t very high for at least my race, and the winner (Charlie Kern) wasn’t even able to make it to the race due to travel problems (he ran a later collegiate heat and transposed his time).  Sure everyone up there had fun after all the dust settled, hopefully I will be able to join them next time around….

Blogging while the NFL games are wrapping up, looks like a New York vs New England Super Bowl.  If it were a New York-Boston matchup in baseball for all the marbles I’d be shaving pinstripes into my chest right about now – since my favorite NFL teams have been playing golf for a while now I’ll probably flip a coin or just root against the Patriots out of principle (guessing they are probably friends with the Red Sox, and I can’t have that).

Long live real “football”! This is for my Greater Philly teammate Kevin Forde, 3rd place in the Hartshorne Mile. Congrats to the Irish flash!

About Nick Berra

I am a 45 year old masters runner from Central Pennsylvania. I have been participating primarily in track events since turning 40 in 2009. This season has produced marks that I have not run in several years, I believe primarily due to starting a strength and flexibility program here at Elite Athletic Performance - I've felt stronger and faster than I have in a long time. That, coupled with lots of underwater running, has kept me healthy and fit - at this age those are things I no longer take for granted... I run USATF events with a team out of Philadelphia, the Greater Philadelphia Track Club. They are a great group who have played a big part in making the sport enjoyable for me again. I also run local races for HydroWorx Track Club, supported by HydroWorx here in Harrisburg PA. Their underwater treadmills and training center has proved to be a crucial part of my training, rehabilitation, and recovery programs. I set personal records in the 800m (1:56.06) in 2010 and in the 1500m (4:02:63) and mile (4:23.48) in 2011. Despite the fact that I am not getting any younger, I nearly PR'ed recently and set the M45 indoor world record in the 800 meters at the New Balance Armory in New York City. I ran 1:56.10, besting the 9 year old record by less than a second. I feel like there are still more big things to come... I am married and have two daughters. I am an assistant XC coach at my alma mater, Cumberland Valley High School here in Mechanicsburg PA. I am also a 1991 graduate of the US Naval Academy, currently working as a pilot for FedEx after serving 10 years on active duty flying in the Navy. Beat Army! Beat Army!
This entry was posted in Competitive Races, Cross Country Running, Running, Training for Runs, Uncategorized, YMCA and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

