Into the Semis…

Semi,  American style...

Semis, American style…

Not much to report, what should have been a formality was.  Was third in my heat, which turned out to be third overall, in 2:08.  Advancing was done strictly on time, not the usual top 2/3 from each heat plus the next 6-8 fastest, so you never really knew what it would take to move on.  I drew the second of 5 heats, so when I ran I didn’t really know what time it would take to advance – couple of guys from my heat got after it early (don’t know why), so I patiently let them go but got nervous when my attempt to run 2:06 turned into 2:08.  Turned out that my anxiety was needless, as all the other heats ran tactical races which eliminated those that didn’t run under 2:13 or so.  Not super impressive, but what you ran didn’t really matter as long as you advanced so you could argue that the 18th and final guy to move on was the real “winner” – easing into the semis…

Tomorrow will be a little tougher, but at least the top guys in each heat will automatically advance, meaning that you can control your own destiny to a point.  That, plus we’ll have a day off before the finals, so if I have to take things up a notch or two it won’t be such a bad thing.  Late night tonight after running at 7:30, dinner at 9:30pm isn’t ideal but the local Fictiv Pub has served me well the past two nights so i figured no use messing with a good thing.  Did throw my waiter a curveball tonite though, going with the goulash instead of the borscht – pretty much like Chunky beef and vegetable soup, with the only difference being it was good and it didn’t involve Donovan McNabb’s mother.  Hopefully it will give me some Eastern European strength though, for I feel the days of 2:08 getting it done are probably over……

About Nick Berra

I am a 45 year old masters runner from Central Pennsylvania. I have been participating primarily in track events since turning 40 in 2009. This season has produced marks that I have not run in several years, I believe primarily due to starting a strength and flexibility program here at Elite Athletic Performance - I've felt stronger and faster than I have in a long time. That, coupled with lots of underwater running, has kept me healthy and fit - at this age those are things I no longer take for granted... I run USATF events with a team out of Philadelphia, the Greater Philadelphia Track Club. They are a great group who have played a big part in making the sport enjoyable for me again. I also run local races for HydroWorx Track Club, supported by HydroWorx here in Harrisburg PA. Their underwater treadmills and training center has proved to be a crucial part of my training, rehabilitation, and recovery programs. I set personal records in the 800m (1:56.06) in 2010 and in the 1500m (4:02:63) and mile (4:23.48) in 2011. Despite the fact that I am not getting any younger, I nearly PR'ed recently and set the M45 indoor world record in the 800 meters at the New Balance Armory in New York City. I ran 1:56.10, besting the 9 year old record by less than a second. I feel like there are still more big things to come... I am married and have two daughters. I am an assistant XC coach at my alma mater, Cumberland Valley High School here in Mechanicsburg PA. I am also a 1991 graduate of the US Naval Academy, currently working as a pilot for FedEx after serving 10 years on active duty flying in the Navy. Beat Army! Beat Army!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment